Flickr

Image sharing site and online community

Follow

Flickr is now owned by Flickr Inc as of May 29, 2018. The personal information that was transferred to Flickr Inc is now controlled by them. SmugMug Inc is the company over Flickr Inc.

Personal data collected

When you create an account with Flickr or subscribe to their services, your personal information gets shared. They collect your name, email address, phone number, postal address, credit card information, and any other information that is needed. Flickr automatically collects the following information: type of browser, pages viewed, IP address, access time, the referring page, hardware information, screen resolution, operating system and version, device identifies, color and depth, and mobile network information. Some information that requires your consent is your location, which is used to add photo location information. If you take a photo with Flickr’s app on your mobile phone, with your consent they will collect the location information. They also collect the location of any photo you take with your mobile device’s camera or if you manually add the location. Flickr also stores data from digital camera pictures you upload. If you create or login to Flickr through a social media account, they collect that information as well.

Flickr data usage

Flickr uses data to:

  • Add photo location information to your shared photos.
  • Prevent fraud.
  • Track your location.
  • Show relevant ads.

Cookies and similar tech

Flickr uses cookies, flash cookies, and other similar technologies to track your information. You can set your browser to reject cookies, however some of the website’s functionality may be limited.

Flickr account

With a Flickr account you can share multiple photos from your phone, digital camera or those taken with the Flickr app. You can set these photos to be private, shared with certain Flickr members, or public for everyone to see.

Data shared with Flickr

NAME
CATEGORY
MANDATORY
User ID
App Information
YES
Username
App Information
YES
Types of content you view
App Information
YES
Types of content you engage with
App Information
YES
People you are connected to
App Information
IP address
Device
YES
Language and time zone
Device
YES
Browser type
Device
YES
Name of your mobile operator or ISP
Device
YES
Device locations
Device
OPTIONAL
Device identifiers
Device
YES
Device settings
Device
YES
Hardware version
Device
YES
Signal strength
Device
Operating system
Device
YES
Battery strength
Device
Billing details
Payment
OPTIONAL
Shipping and contact details
Payment
OPTIONAL
Credit or debit card number
Payment
OPTIONAL
Gender
Personal Information
OPTIONAL
Name
Personal Information
OPTIONAL
Information provided by third-party entity
Third-party
YES
Message sent to you
Third-party
Login time
Time
Sign-up time
Time
Duration of your activities
Time
YES
Frequency of your activities
Time
YES

How to protect your privacy

By signing up for a Flickr account or subscription, you share some information with them automatically. Even if you delete your account, Flickr may still retain some information about you. To protect yourself, you should:

  • Check your account settings for privacy issues.
  • Remove information from your profile and account.
  • Email Flickr to delete your account.
  • Disable cookies in your browser.
  • Not access your Flickr account via the app or on your phone’s browser.
  • Delete your Flickr photos.
  • Go into your settings and make your photos private.
  • Turn off auto-upload of your camera’s photos in settings.
  • Disable or delete flash cookies.
  • Opt out of promotional emails by editing your settings.

How to contact Flickr about your privacy

You can email Flickr or you can send postal mail to them:

ATTN: Privacy Policy
SmugMug Inc.
Suite 200
67 E Evelyn Avenue
Mountain View, CA 94041, USA
650-265-0396